Delhi Capitals defeated Punjab Kings by 17-runs at the Dr. DY Patil Sports Academy in Navi Mumbai. With this win, DC displaced Royal Challengers Bangalore from the top 4 with a higher net run rate and moved to the last playoffs spot on the points table. Chasing a target of 160, PBKS batting order collapsed in front of the strong DC bowling attack and was restricted to 142/9. Shardul Thakur was the stand-out bowler for DC with a four-wicket haul.

Initially, Liam Livingstone stunned DC by dismissing David Warner for a golden duck. However, Sarfaraz Khan (32) and Mitchell Marsh batted well to add 51-runs for the second wicket. Arshdeep Singh and Livingstone brought their side into the game by removing Lalit Yadav (24) and Rishabh Pant (7) in successive overs.

Though DC kept losing regular wickets at one end, Marsh played brilliantly at another end. A blistering knock of 63 runs off 48 balls by Marsh helped DC to post 159/7 in 20 overs. Meanwhile, Livingstone and Arshdeep took three wickets each for PBKS.

In response, Jonny Bairstow gave his side a good start with a quick-fire 28-runs. But Thakur put PBKS on the backfoot by dismissing Shikhar Dhawan (19) and Bhanuka Rajapaksa (4) in the final powerplay over. Very soon, Axar Patel cleaned up Mayank Agarwal for a duck.

Though wickets kept falling regularly, Jithesh Sharma (44) and Rahul Chahar (25) played a fighting knock to add 41-runs for the eighth wicket. However, DC bowlers held their nerves and bowled tight lines to secure the win.