Mumbai Indians won a last over thriller to clinch the Women’s Premier League 2023 title

Mumbai Indians (MI) defeated Delhi Capitals (DC) by 7 wickets in the summit clash on a super Sunday to become the first-ever Women’s Premier League champions. Chasing 132 runs, MI reached the target in the final over to seal a thrilling win at the Brabourne Stadium. Nat Sciver-Brunt smacked an unbeaten knock of 60 runs under pressure to take MI home. Meanwhile, captain Harmanpreet Kaur played a crucial knock of 37. DC bowlers produced a good fight until the last over.

After winning the toss, DC skipper Meg Lanning elected to bat first. But the move backfired as DC never kept going and lost quick wickets. Issy Wong was on fire and dismissed both Shafali Verma (11) and Alice Capsey (0) in the second over to stun DC. Wong then removed well-experienced Jemimah Rodrigues (9) in her next over. Lanning and Marizanne Kapp added 38 runs for the fourth wicket before Amellia Kerr bagged Kapp for 18.

Lanning top-scored with a knock of 35 runs before losing her wicket in a freak run out. With wickets tumbling, Shikha Pandey and Radha Yadav stitched a sensational 10th-wicket stand of 52 runs and helped DC to reach a defendable total of 131/9 in 20 overs. Wong and Hayley Matthews picked up three wickets each.

MI in response failed to have a good start as Yastika Bhatia (4) and Matthews (13) walked back quickly. Sciver-Brunt and Harmanpreet put on a match winning partnership of 72 runs before MI captain was run out. Kerr chipped in with 14 runs to ensure MI’s victory. Matthews clinched the Purple Cap for taking the highest number of wickets while Lanning won the Orange Cap for scoring most runs in the tournament.