Three star Indian players named in the ICC Men’s T20I team of the year 2022

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday, revealed the T20I team of the Year for both men’s and women’s cricket. Players who have impressed the cricket world with their batting, bowling, and all-round exploits in 2022, have found their spots in the respective teams. Former India captain Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, and Hardik Pandya are the three Indian players who made the cut in the Playing XI of the men’s team of the Year.

Kohli got his name in the ICC team of the year after a gap following a sensational form in the T20 World Cup, where he finished as the highest run-scorer with 296 runs, laced with four half-centuries. The star batter also played one of the greatest T20I knocks ever witnessed, in his unbeaten 82 against arch-rivals Pakistan.

Suryakumar, nominated for ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year 2022, had a fabulous year in the shortest format of the game. The right-handed batter ended the year as the highest run-getter in T20Is, scoring 1164 runs at a ridiculous strike-rate of 187.43 with his superb 360-degree stroke-play. His tally of 68 sixes in 2022 is the highest anyone has hit in the format in a year by a fair distance.

Hardik contributed heavily both with bat and ball. The all-rounder had an excellent year in blue colours, scoring 607 runs while also picking up 20 wickets in T20Is. Smriti Mandhana has been picked for the women’s team. The other three Indian cricketers in the ICC women’s team include Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh, and Renuka Singh