Smriti Mandhana named ICC Women’s Cricketer of the year 2021

Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Trophy for the year 2021 has won by Smriti Mandhana for being the ICC’s Women’s Cricketer of the year 2021. The first player to win the highest individual distinction in the women’s overall category of the annual ICC awards is Australian allrounder, Ellyse Perry.

And the second player next to Ellyse Perry is Smriti Mandhana. The Indian cricketer to ever win an ICC annual award is Jhulan Goswami. Gaby Lewis of Ireland and Lizelle Lee of South Africa also won it. Mandhana said to ICC while receiving the award that it’s honored for receiving the prestigious Rachael Heyhoe Trophy of the year 2021 for ICC Women’s Cricketer.

And she thanked her team, coaches, family friends, and fans who believed in her potential and supported her in this journey. She also continued that this award is a big recognition of such a high class from the world governing body of cricket in an extraordinary year. And that will motivate her to continue to improvise her game and contribute more to India towards Success.

She mentioned that she is having a clear focus on 2022 on winning the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 in New Zealand by preparing as a team and unit. In 2018, Mandhana was holding the top run chart in women’s ODIs with 669 runs at an average of 66.90. She was the third-highest scorer in T20Is with 622 runs at a strike rate of 130.67.