Sai Sudharsan and Rashid Khan star as Gujarat Titans beat Delhi Capitals by 6 wickets

Gujarat Titans (GT) defeated Delhi Capitals (DC) by 6 wickets to register their second win of IPL 2023 at Arun Jaitley Stadium. GT are at the top of the points table, having gotten their title defense off to a flyer. Chasing 162, young batter Sai Sudharsan played an anchoring inning with a fighting knock of 62 off 48 balls. David Miller played a fine cameo of unbeaten 31 runs towards the end and took his side home with 11 balls to spare.

After deciding to bowl first, GT had a perfect start as their senior pacer Mohammed Shami dismissed hard-hitters Prithvi Shaw (7) and Mitchell Marsh (4) inside the powerplay overs. In the 9th over, Alzarri Joseph cleaned up DC skipper David Warner (37) who looked in a good touch. Joseph then stunned DC by dismissing Rilee Rossouw for a golden duck.

Sarfaraz Khan (30) and Abishek Porel (20) looked to steady their ship by adding 34 runs. Moments later, Rashid Khan removed both batters with his brilliant bowling. Axar Patel chipped in with 36 runs and helped DC to reach a respectable total of 162/8 in 20 overs. Rashid and Shami picked up three wickets each.

In reply, GT openers Wriddhiman Saha (14) and Shubman Gill (14) started off their innings well, playing few blistering shots. But Anrich Nortje bowled a ripper to bowl out both openers in his successive overs. Khaleel Ahmed then dismissed GT captain Hardik Pandya (5) in the final ball of the powerplay. However, Sudharsan and Vijay Shankar (29) shared a match-winning stand of 53 runs for the fourth wicket. Sudharsan was honored with the player of the match award for his brilliance with the bat.