IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals win by 16 runs, qualify for the play-offs

Share this story

Delhi won the toss and decide to bat first. The capital franchise posted 187 for five in 20 overs after opting to bat. Prithvi Shaw (18 off 10 balls) started off on a positive note but was then dismissed by Umesh Yadav. Shreyas Iyer (52 off 37 balls) and Shikhar Dhawan (50 off 37 balls) then came together to put on a stable partnership, both eventually bringing up their respective fifties. Royal Challengers Bangalore were struggling to find a breakthrough.

However, there was a shift in momentum as Yuzvendra Chahal, who was the pick of the bowlers, dismissed Dhawan as he tried to reach out and sweep the ball in the 13th over. The spinner than dismissed danger man Rishabh Pant for 7 in his next over.

Delhi were struggling at 141 for 5 when Rutherford ( 28 off 13 balls) and Patel (16 off 9) walked in to share a 46-run partnership with 20 runs coming off the last over.

RCB got good start but not convert that in the end Parthiv Patel (39 off 20 balls) and Virat Kohli (23 off 17 balls) got RCB off to a lightning start, but once their wickets fell, DC were all over them. There were contributions from Shivam Dube (24 off 16 balls), Gurkeerat Singh (27 off 19) and Marcus Stoinis (32* off 24 balls), but they were not enough as RCB finished at 171/7 in their 20 overs.