India lost the ODI series 0-1 against New Zealand after rain abandoned the final match

India lost the three-match ODI series 0-1 against New Zealand after rain abandoned the third and final match in Christchurch on Wednesday. Chasing a paltry 220, the Black Caps were cruising on 104/1 in 18 overs when rain interrupted. Devon Conway was batting with a score of 38 while skipper Kane Williamson did not get off the mark.

Batting first, Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill gave India a decent start by scoring 39 runs in 8 overs. Adam Milne drew the first blood by dismissing Gill for 13. He then sent back captain Dhawan for 28. Rishabh Pant yet again failed and never got going as his struggle in the middle ended when Daryl Mitchell removed him for 10. Milne then took the prized wicket of Suryakumar Yadav (6) to put the visitors under huge pressure.

Shreyas Iyer, who plays consistently well in the ODIs, chipped in with 49 runs. Deepak Hooda failed to impress once more and departed for 12. Washington Sundar rose to the occasion and scored 51 off 64-balls to take his side past 200. A disciplined bowling display helped the hosts to bowl out India for 219.

New Zealand, in response, started well with solid batting from Conway and Finn Allen. Both added 97 runs for the opening wicket to put their side in a commanding position. Umran Malik dismissed Allen for 57. The Black Caps were 50 runs ahead on the Duckworth-Lewis method, but at least 20 overs of play were required for the match to be completed.