Dhawan’s century goes in vain as Punjab snatch victory from Delhi

Kings XI Punjab won the match against Delhi Capitals by 5 wickets. This is Punjab’s second consecutive and fourth win in the tournament. Initially, Delhi won the toss and scored 164 runs for 5 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs. In response, the Punjab team scored 167 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in 19 overs. Shikhar Dhawan scored his second of the season century for Delhi, but his efforts went in vain as the team could not take advantage and win.

Nicholas Pooran scored 53 off 28 balls for Punjab by smashing 6 fours and 3 sixes. Glenn Maxwell contributed 32 runs off 24 balls. Chris Gayle scored 29 runs off 13 balls in which he hit three fours and two sixes. Deepak Hooda remained unbeaten on 15 off 22 balls and James Neesham 10 runs off 8 balls. Kagiso Rabada made two wickets to his name and still remains as the leading wicket-taker in this season.

Mayank Agarwal was runout after scoring 5 runs off 9 balls while captain KL Rahul’s magic with the bat did not work against DC as he scored only 15 runs and was caught by Daniel Sums off Axar Patel. Earlier, Delhi opener Shikhar Dhawan scored a century in the second match in a row and remained unbeaten on 106 off 61 balls with help of 12 fours and 3 sixes. Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant were out for 14–14.