India clinches Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2-1 as Final Test ends in Draw

Team India won the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023 with a 2-1 lead after the fourth and final Test in Ahmedabad ended in a draw on Day 5. India has defeated Australia for the fourth consecutive time in a Test series and becomes the first team to do so in more than 30 years. Marnus Labuschagne (63*) and Australian captain Steve Smith (10*) remained unbeaten at the crease before early stumps were called off after both teams mutually agreed to end the match as no other result was seemingly possible.

The Aussies started the final day at 3/0 with Travis Head and Matthew Kuhnemann beginning the proceedings. Ravichandran Ashwin took an early wicket by trapping Kuhnemann (6) LBW. Head then joined hands with Labuschagne to anchor the Australian innings, adding 139 runs for the second wicket. Head who looked good to hit a century was cleaned up by Axar Patel when he was on 90.

Virat Kohli won the player of the match award for his marvelous batting in the first innings. The Indian star batter has won the award after 41 months in Tests.

Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja received the award of Joint Player of the series as the spin duo was lethal in the four-match series.

Rohit Sharma-led side sealed their spot in the World Test Championships final against Australia after New Zealand defeated Sri Lanka in the opener of the two-match series. The rivalry between India and Australia will continue as both teams will battle in a three-match ODI series. The first match will be played on March 17 at Wankhede Stadium.